Being a writer, I have always thought that article marketing is the more valuable search engine optimization (SEO) tool over pay-per-click because article marketing offers a more permanent and lasting effect. Both are operating in completely different ways, with PPC promoting the products and services by way of getting the search engines to exhibit specific keywords and paying when the ads are clicked and article marketing utilizing the power of writing short articles to promote the website, there’s no escaping the fact that these online marketing methods can be very effective in bringing excellent outcomes in terms of getting the website out there within the potential customer’s clicking distance.

I’m delighted that I came across Valerie Mellena’s article called “The Last Word in PPC vs. Article Marketing”. The article methodically compares the two marketing techniques with statistics strengthening her findings. “In figuring out which of the two is better, you have to consider cost-effectiveness as well as click-through rates and direct conversion from visiting user to paying customer,” she wrote.

“Search engine result pages display more listings than PPC results, which does have a psychological effect on the user,” wrote Mellena. “For some users seeing ten search results is enough to convince them that there is enough web information on the subject and that “fishing” PPC ads might not be necessary”. I totally approve of what she said here. I, for one, would almost without thinking scan the search results list first and foremost before I even check out at the PPC ads.

With article marketing, she went on saying that, “In order to actually rank in the Top 10 SEO results for your keyword, you have to have relevant website content, not to mention technical prowess in HTML coding”. Search engines then determine which website is more relevant, unlike in PPC where, to use her words, “whoever bids the highest for each word usually gets the top listing. In the end money talks.”

She then puts the question if you are ”appealing to the fast clicker or the thoughtful user”.

Mellena cited information with sources from ComScore, Webxico, iProspect, SEOResearcher and Hotchkiss, Garrison, and Jensen, which observed, that “77% of search users choose organic (article) listings over PPC ads”. A few other studies pointed out that organic click-through generated 25% higher conversion rates than the equivalent Pay-Per-Click (PPC) click-through. Reading this got me convinced that article marketing is the way to go when it comes to advertising products, but Mellena wrote some strong points about PPC advertising that made me think again. “The best feature PPC has is that it gets instantaneous results. SEO advertising takes time,” she wrote. “PPC brings you immediate traffic and sometimes brings in thousands of users.”

She also noted that Comscore published figures favoring PPC, revealing that their studied users had an 18.3% click-through rate on paid search results as compared to 4.3% click-through rate for organic search results.

However, the author continued and stated that a considerable disadvantage for PPC advertising is that it capitalizes on the audiences’ curiosity. “When that curiosity fades, they forget your website, especially if it’s just a glorified advertisement.” She also added that, “Most users know that PPC ads usually aren’t relevant to their search; they’re just there because someone is constantly paying big bucks to get noticed.”

She then went on to support article marketing as “an investment that continually pays all through the life of your company (or until you shut the website down) since it generates traffic forever.” An advertising technique like that is nearly unbeatable. Can you think of an unending traffic flowing in perpetually? Now that’s an outstanding marketing plan.

With regards to ROI, a survey conducted by popular blogger Gord Hotchkiss disclosed that article marketing is more consistent (albeit slower) than PPC when it comes to Return-On-Investment. Mellena explained on this issue by giving a series of calculations of sorts, for example: “Let’s say you have 50 high traffic search terms. Now for these 50 terms, there are 2.8 million searches being launched in a month,” she wrote. “If statistics like ComScore’s are correct and unbiased, that translates to 456,000 visitors thanks to PPC and 153,000 visitors thanks to article marketing.”

“The total cost of those 456,000 PPC visitors would amount to over $500,000 with an average CPC of $1.18. Even if you work with an SEO company that charges top dollar ($10,000 a month, let’s say) you’re still paying $10,000 compared to half a million. That means article marketing’s virtual CPC amounts to $0.07. Even if you apply PPC’s higher conversion rate, 3,647 converted visitors, you are paying $147.08 for each individual person. Compare that to 611 visitors you earned through article marketing—you are paying $16.37 for each visitor. And in doing so, you are also earning a higher quality of customer and generating traffic until the end of days.”

It is somewhat clear that in the end, the author chose article marketing as the better technique. “When it comes to earning quality traffic, article marketing gets the last word.” I’m inclined to have the same opinion as hers. How about you?

No-cost Google AdWords campaigns

Posted December 11th, 2011. Filed under PPC Strategies

This may put all those Google consultants out of business: When you open a Google account, Google will help you build your AdWords campaign for free! And who knows more about Google than Google? For more information call: 866-2-Google.

Facebook Advertising Tip

Posted October 17th, 2011. Filed under PPC Strategies

When advertising on Facebook, send the clicks to a Facebook page and not to your website, advise Perry Marshall and Thomas Meloche in their new book “The Ultimate Guide to Facebook Advertising” (Entrepreneur Press).

Reason: If you send your clicks to a Facebook page, then the visitors land in known and comfortable surroundings.

Says Marshall, “Their defenses are much lower than when they are taken to a foreign web site for the first time, and they are more likely to engage more frequently with your content.”

In addition, visitors don’t have to worry that you’re about to install a virus on their computer, post offensive material, or assault them with pop-ups and ads.

FB Conspiracy

1,200 copies of FB Conspiracy was recently sold at the Warrior Forum for $27 but you can pick up your legitimate copy for just $17 and get some neat bonuses as well!

FB Conspiracy is a video tutorial series showing how to get traffic and make serious conversion from Facebook PPC. It is a great product from Tim Atkinson, known as one of the expert in Facebook PPC.

Here’s what you get:

- How to set up high converting ad campaigns

- How to get your ads approved and to keep them approved

- How to get ads approved to any “make money” product you want

- How to not pay more than 75 cents for a click ever

- How to spread out your ads such that your audience can’t help but see them everywhere—they will have no choice but to click your ads!

- The FB Conspiracy Mindmap: This mindmap alone is worth triple the cost for the course.

- Also automation, tracking and other cool tools that you will love

There’s no better time than to act NOW to get this.

Traffic from Google for $.01-$.05 a click…

Posted June 15th, 2011. Filed under PPC Strategies

Quantum Click Method

It’s what the headline says. The Quantum Click Method reveals a breakthrough formula for generating massive amounts of targeted visitors for as little as $0.02!

It reveals EXACTLY how you can guarantee your ad expenditure always results in profits!

And this has nothing to do with the standard PPC marketing you might expect!

Hint: Press F5 key for a discounted price.

PPC, A Quick Way To Know Your Prospect

Posted June 11th, 2011. Filed under PPC Strategies

While PPC advertising costs money, it can help you save money in the long run by saving you months of time testing your campaigns. This will allow you know what keywords to gear your website toward using for Search Engine Optimization. After the initial expense you can settle into using other free methods to build traffic with your research.

Location, Location, Location

Another advantage of PPC is that you can use it to target specific geographic areas. By limiting your pay per click advertising to certain areas you may be able to keep your costs down while getting highly qualified visitors to your site. This can be done in your own geographic location or another.

If you are a local marketer, then this is exactly the information you need to help your clients bring in their specific customers. The pay per clicks will be more appealing when people know that the ad is for one of their local businesses. This can help your clients grow and of course help your reputation as their marketer.

Summer, Holiday and Other Special Occasions

Seasons are just that…seasonal. They last a short period of time, during which you must maximize your advertising. Your swimsuit business is probably not going to do that well during the cold months of December. PPC during June when the season is just starting can help push you in front of even more buyers. It also helps with running time-related ads such as those that run during a sale.

What are they thinking?

As discussed in the first paragraph, the biggest advantage is knowing what your customers and potential customers are thinking. Since you can not read their minds, PPC is the next best thing. After you discover what keywords bring in buyers you can better target and market your website.

With your new list of keywords you can write articles that use those specific keywords and distribute them to reference your website. You can fill up blogs with posts that are relevant to those words. This will make search engines happy, as you will have fresh content and make your prospects happy to have relevant information.

Relevant information can encourage reluctant buyers to stay longer on your website. The longer they are on your website the more likely they are to consider you as someone they should buy from. And all these benefits come from knowing what your prospect is searching for on search engines.

Top 5 Advantages of PPC

1. Condense months of keyword research into a few days
2. Know what your prospect wants
3. Target local markets or certain geographic areas
4. Run seasonal promotions
5. Improve your ROI (return on investment)

Extracted from StomperNet NewsFlash, June 3, 2011.

Adspy Elite

What if you could walk into any niche you choose and dominate it instantly because you’ll already know where the money is at every single time…before you even spend a dime on your own?

Finally A Software Program Powerful Enough To Predict The Winners And Losers So It’s Always A Sure Bet For You.

This is not a bold claim, but pure facts. AdSpy Elite will tell you day after day, or even 5 or 6 times a day where the money is, which keywords are profitable, which offers are converting with these keywords, and which words (ads) are the best selling words! And it works a round the clock (it’s not a crappy software you install on your computer forcing you to leave your computer on 365 days in a row…).

And you can use this intelligence to create profitable PPC campaigns obviously. But AdSpy Elite will also tell you how to optimize your web pages, blogs, articles, videos…How? It’s simple: you just grab the highest performing keywords and you create your content around those, you build your web pages and blogs around these keywords, these words that are proven to sell and you advertise those converting offers AdSpy Elite has just uncovered!

Imagine, saving hundreds of dollars for EACH AND ANY of your PPC campaign. Imagine saving hundreds of dollars and hours in niche, keyword, domain research for each and every one of your niche marketing project.

Imagine knowing what 99% of your competitors will NEVER EVER know and understand! Don’t you think it would help you dramatically boost your online business?

We have a $60 coupon to use when you proceed to checkout: asp-earlybirds

This tool is a game changer.

See you inside.

How do you reach PPC self-financing?

Posted December 29th, 2010. Filed under PPC Strategies

Campaign Blasts Method

Yesterday I recommend an e-book called “5 Bucks A Day“. Your next 5 bucks made from using its methodology could be the most exciting $5 yet!

In the e-book, Matt Levenhagen’s Campaign Blasts Method was mentioned as one of the many ideas that can get you started in making consistent daily income, but in case you are only interested in AdWords, let me explain briefly how Campaign Blasts works.

Most AdWords newbies would think of fine-tuning an ad campaign “until it works”. What if the ultimate truth is it DOESN’T work? The worst-case scenario is all your money went into the hole, there isn’t a net profit and you’d wish you had moved on to something else earlier.

Campaign Blasts proposes that out of 10 campaigns (quickly set up), only 1 will succeed (does it sound like a good selling point?). But once you know which one is succeeding, you quit the other 9 and focus on improving the successful one left.

Then you move on to the next 10, and quit 9…

This may sound expensive at the beginning, but once you have 10 successful campaigns churning income day in, day out, they will pay for your next 10 campaign tests.

Then you have succeeded at PPC self-financing, whether it’s AdWords, Microsoft adCenter or Yahoo!.

If this sounds interesting to you, download Matt’s free report to get a better explanation of what campaign blasting is about.

1 | 2

I run couple of AdWords campaigns every month and I wanted to share few important points about it today.

1. It’s very important that you bundle all the related keywords you’re targeting into different ad groups. That’s because if you have different keywords in one ad group, Google may charge you more. You get the best deal when your keyword, URL, content in the link are related.

2. Always use 2-3 ads for an ad group and choose “Rotate: Show ads more evenly” while setting up the campaign.

3. When a particular keyword is doing well in your campaign create a new ad group targeting all the keywords related to the main keyword. You can later on optimize your site with the same keywords.

4. Use lots of negative keywords to keep away non-customers and drive up your CTR.

5. Make ad display URLs more relevant by adding a slash. For example, yourdomain.com/yourkeyword

6. Make sure that your ad description contains a relevant call to action.

7. To get more clicks for your money, bid on all three match types for every keyword broad, phrase, and exact.

Indu Priya is the webmaster of The Ideas Home.

How much should you pay per click?

Posted August 8th, 2010. Filed under PPC Strategies

Dana Todd, executive VP of SiteLabs, uses this formula:

Break-even cost-per-click = average gross profit X average conversion ratio

If your gross profit is $5 and your average conversion rate is 2%, then $5 X .02 = $0.10.

Maximum you should pay per click: 10 cents.

Source: Internet Marketing Report, 9/30/03, p. 2.


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